Save The Franklin Battlefield, Inc  

Home | Mission | Preservation | Newsletter | Events | Contact


STFB Annual Meeting

November 19, 2009



Save The Franklin Battlefield, Inc., held the 2009 Annual Membership Meeting on November 19, 2009, at Otey Hall, St. Paul’s Episcopal Church.

Before STFB President, Mike Walker, opened the meeting, the guests were treated to a delicious dinner prepared by the St. Paul ladies. Sam Huffman then reviewed STFB activities of 2009 and paid tribute to the late Harold J. McMurtry, past STFB Board member and former mayor of Brentwood.

New and renewing STFB Board members were placed in nomination and approved by acclamation. For the 2009-2011 term, new members Robert Huff and David Hundt were elected. For the 2010- 2012 term, retuning member Dan Mora was elected, and renewing members Sam Gant and Bobby Hargrove were re-elected.

The Tenny Pinkerton Dozier Award was presented to Robin Hood, Chairman of the Franklin Mayor’s Battlefield Task Force, with the following inscription: The Tenny Pinkerton Dozier Award Presented to Robin Hood For His Dedication to Preservation of the Franklin Battlefield and Outstanding Leadership in Honoring Franklin’s Unknown Soldier.

Dr. Benjamin Nance, State Archaeologist and STFB Advisory Board Member, was the Keynote Speaker for the evening. Dr. Nance presented a series of slides and spoke on “Archaeology of Civil War Sites in Franklin.” He discussed the Civil War sites at Franklin and archaeological finds, principally at the Carter House and on Roper’s Knob


  © 1997-2023 Save the Franklin Battlefield Inc.